What is the restart when a throw-in fails to cross the vertical plane of the touch line and hits the ground out-of-bounds?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

When a throw-in is executed but fails to cross the vertical plane of the touch line and subsequently hits the ground out-of-bounds, the correct restart is indeed a retake. In this scenario, the referee recognizes that the throw-in did not properly comply with the Laws of the Game, as it must cross the touch line completely to be considered a valid throw-in. Therefore, the throw-in is not valid, and the procedure must be repeated without any penalty or additional consequences for the team taking the throw-in.

This understanding is essential for referees to enforce the rules consistently, ensuring that all players adhere to the established throwing technique. Thus, while other options may suggest different restarts, the situation specifically calls for the throw-in to be retaken without any penalties involved.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy