What is the restart if the thrower touches the ball a second time before it touches another player during a throw-in?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

The correct answer of indirect free kick is based on the Laws of the Game, specifically Law 15, which governs throw-ins. When a player taking a throw-in makes contact with the ball a second time before it has touched any other player, the referee correctly awards an indirect free kick to the opposing team from the place where the second touch occurred.

This rule is in place to ensure fair play and prevent malpractices during restarts. It emphasizes that the thrown ball must be given the opportunity to enter the game without undue interference from the original thrower. The situation is treated as a violation due to the player not adhering to the proper procedure of the throw-in, which involves the expectation that the ball will enter play and be touched by another player before being touched again by the thrower.

Other responses do not align with this scenario. For example, a free kick would normally apply to more serious infringements, while a drop ball is used to restart play in different circumstances, such as when play is stopped due to an injury or interference not caused by the players. The term "punitive kick" is not recognized in the Laws of the Game, further supporting that the correct restart in this situation is indeed an indirect free kick.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy