What happens if a thrown ball from a throw-in enters a team's own goal?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

When a thrown ball from a throw-in enters a team's own goal, the laws of soccer state that it should not result in a goal for the opposing team. Instead, the play will result in a goal kick awarded to the opposing team. This decision is in accordance with the Laws of the Game, which specify that a goal can only be scored if the ball is deliberately kicked or played by another player. Since a throw-in is a restart of play and intended for the team taking the throw, if the ball inadvertently goes into their own goal, the correct restart is a goal kick to the opposing team.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy