During an indirect free kick, if the first attacker taps the ball and a second attacker scores, what is the restart?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

In the scenario described, when the first attacker taps the ball during an indirect free kick, the second attacker is allowed to play the ball and attempt to score. If this successful goal occurs, the correct restart is indeed a goal kick awarded to the defenders.

According to the Laws of the Game, when an indirect free kick is taken and the ball touches a player from the same team before entering the goal, the goal does not count. This is because the ball must be touched by two players of the attacking team before a goal can be considered valid from an indirect free kick situation. Since the goal did not meet this criterion, the appropriate response is to restart the game with a goal kick for the defending team.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy