Can an offside infraction be called before an attacker touches the ball?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

An offside infraction can indeed be called before an attacker touches the ball because the violation is assessed based on the positioning of the players at the moment the ball is played by a teammate, rather than when the ball is ultimately touched by the attacker. The key element in determining offside is whether an attacking player is in an offside position at the moment the ball is played to them. If they are found to be nearer to the opponent's goal line than both the ball and the second-to-last opponent at that moment, they can be penalized for offside, regardless of whether they actually make contact with the ball.

This concept is crucial in officiating, as it allows referees to maintain the flow of the game and ensure fairness regarding player positioning. The timing of the ball’s contact with players is not a determining factor for the offside rule itself.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy