Can a player be called for offside after a punt by his own goalkeeper?

Prepare for the Soccer Referee Test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions. Each question offers hints and explanations to help you succeed. Enhance your knowledge and readiness for your referee certification exam!

A player cannot be called for offside after a punt by his own goalkeeper due to the specific rules surrounding the offside law in soccer. The Laws of the Game state that a player is not in an offside position if they receive the ball directly from a goal kick, a throw-in, or a corner kick. Additionally, when the goalkeeper punts the ball, it is considered a form of restarting play, and the player can position themselves freely without penalty for being in front of an opponent since they are not interfering with active play off that particular restart.

This scenario emphasizes the need to understand the exception in the offside law concerning goal kicks and similar restarts. As a result, players can take advantage of these situations without the risk of being judged offside, allowing for more fluid gameplay.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy